Do you like to press fabric?

I know, some consider it a sickness, but I really do enjoy pressing fabric.  Even large yardage.  It’s relaxing.  And there’s all that anticipation of what you will do with that fabric if you ever pull it out of your stash again, once it’s all pressed and ready and waiting.  I have been guilty of prewashing but not pressing lately, so I got up at 3:30 this morning to press.  😉

Well, that’s not the whole story.  As you know, I have a back problem and will be having a fusion at the end of the month.  My wonderful doctor has prescribed Fentanyl pain patches for me and they WORK!  I can’t believe how much better I feel.  However, the medication seems to wind me up a bit and I’m awake when I should be asleep.  I did get 4.5 hours of good sleep tonight, but just woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep and the thought of all those flat folds I bought but didn’t press began to weigh on my mind.  So, I got up and pressed.  I have one of those nifty Euro Steam Irons (a steamer, actually), and I made it through about 30 yards of fabric.  I think I’ll go turn on the alarm radio (it generally puts me right out) and see if I can grab another few hours of shut-eye before work.

Have a great day all.

6 thoughts on “Do you like to press fabric?

  1. It is so good that you have some relief from that awful pain even if you are up “pressing” fabric. Glad to hear you are doing a bit better.

  2. I am so glad the pain meds are working for you and I say get your therapy wherever you can – even if it is ironing. Doing laundry is my domestic therapy. I’m betting that you have operated on so little sleep for so long, because of the pain, that your body is thrilled with 4 hours!

  3. I am so glad that you are finding relief from your pain, you sound sooo much better…. Pressing, ugh, I use wrinkle release, I am just tooo lazy to press… Love ya, now don’t overdo!

  4. No ironing (or at least very little) for me. I finally got some meds for pain for my arm that helps too Linda. I’m so glad that you have found some relief Linda.

  5. I’m glad the pain meds are working for you. I like to press my stash also….it helps keep it nicer looking when its on the shelf.

    Karen L

  6. I only enjoy pressing when it first comes in the house after laundering. It is then when I can do my best ” bonding” with it…lol not that I ever see it again, but… sometimes? Glad you got some good pain relief:)
    G

Leave a Reply

