Other options

Well, I had my second epidural spinal injection today.  I talked with the pain management doctor before the shot and we talked about the results of my last one.  Some temporary relief down my leg (the pain did come back) but little to no relief in my back, which has just continued to get worse.  He said this will be the last injection and he thinks it will help my leg quite a bit, but it’s time to explore “other options” for my back.  I had a feeling this was coming.  I realize that all the joint juice in the world won’t fix my crumbling spine.  I guess I’ll know in a week or so what we’re going to do.  I have a feeling a fusion is what is called for, but maybe they have some spiffy new disc stuff they can put in there or something that will save me from an extensive surgery.  I do want to get it fixed up though.  I’m tired of the pain.

So, I spent most of the day sleeping today.  I was really groggy and a bit sick to my stomach from the procedure, so I just racked out.  Now I’m up in the middle of the night.  I did manage to load the dishwasher and the sound is lulling me to drowsiness.  I’ll try to go to bed again soon.

Tomorrow I start my sister’s quilt.  It’s sort of like a Montana Cart Wheel, but not really.  She wants custom, but the fabrics are dark and busy.  I’d rather panto it, but I’ll humor her.  I expect my back will be numb for most of the day, so it shouldn’t be a problem.  I have three more customer quilts and a quilt to do for my other sister, then I may be able to sneak something for me on the table.  After that, it’s three more king-sized quilts for a good customer.

6 thoughts on “Other options

  1. I was wondering how you were doing. I’m so sorry you are having so much trouble with your back. I sure hope you and your doctors can find a good solution soon.

    I found a great solution for my insomnia recently. I decided that I needed to get some culture so I downloaded a book by Proust. I’ll never get through the horrid book but I will always keep it on my MP3 player because it puts me right to sleep!

  2. Linda, you were on my mind often yesterday. I hope you do get the relief from the leg pain and also that the back pain will ease up, too.

    It does sound like you have a busy weekend planned and I hope you feel good enough to tackle everything to want to get done.

  3. I am so sorry to hear about your back issues. No fun at all.

    Would it be easier to forego king quilts to help your back? I finally stopped taking them- just too hard on my spine.

    Sending healing hugs and hope that the ESI worked!

  4. Please take it easy the next couple of weeks. I am thinking of you often. Hopefully at the end of it all, you’ll be better than new!

Leave a Reply

