Oy!

Most of you who know me are aware that I have been looking forward to retirement for some time now.  I have only a year and a half to go and some days it seems as though it will never get here.  Today was one of those days.  I have two secretaries who work for our department.  They work together in the big department office, but there is no wall that separates them, so they are together all day.  Add to that our approaching commencement ceremony, the fact that one has three teen-age sons, that they are both menopausal, and watch out!!  Both were near tears today.  I spoke to each one in turn, but while I was with one, the other was sure I was plotting to fire her.  Then add to that my family’s bickering with each other, the fact that my back has been crumbling miserably over the past few weeks, and I just wanted to run screaming into the night. 

I think things were pretty much smoothed over by the time I left today.  I’ve never been so happy to come home to “garbage night” in my life.  Normally I hate putting out the trash and recyclables, but it actually felt a bit theraputic this evening.  One more day in the salt mines and then I’m off for a quilting retreat at Silver Falls State Park.  I’ll take lots of pictures.  It’s one of the most beautiful places to be.

5 thoughts on “Oy!

  1. Sounds like it’s time for a count down chart! There would be some satisfaction from making an “x” at the end of a day like that – and then have drink or ice cream.

  2. I had to laugh – and be inspired – at your comment on how putting out the garbage at the end of your trying day was therapeutic. You are so right – I am going to “put out some garbage today” as I need the therapy today as well. It must be everywhere. Thanks!

  3. Linda, glad you made it through the day and could still find some humor in the situation. 😉 Hope today is a much easier and better day.

  4. Hope your back feels better! I agree with Vicki, you need to make a countdown chart and post it on your blog… similar to the type people have who are counting down when Bush leaves office.

Leave a Reply

