I’m home – finally

The cruise was marvelous, but getting home was more of an effort than I would have liked. I did manage to get up off the couch at 4:00 a.m. and get ready for the shuttle to pick me up for my flight out of Eugene. It was snowing, but we managed to take off. I made it to Florida without incident, and met up with my roommate and two other friends from the weight loss surgery board. We met a bunch of other WLS patients for lunch the following day and then headed out to the ship. A couple of the gals were local, so we didn’t even need to call a cab. They gave us a ride. We took our carry-on bags to our rooms and headed up to the Lido deck for lunch. Here’s my first cruise ship food on the Lido deck: cruise-1.jpg

I promised Kimmy I’d have one of those yummy drinks with an umbrella in it, so here’s what I ordered. cruise-2.jpg

I can’t remember what it was called, but it was so full of alcohol that I managed about three sips of it before dumping it out. It sure was pretty and I got to keep the glass, so it wasn’t a total waste. I also kept the cute little umbrella.

We headed into Freeport, Bahamas the next morning. That beautiful blue water was beckoning to us as the ship headed into port. cruise-3.jpg

Of course, my roommate and I weren’t too interested in the beach. We headed into Port Lucaya to do some jewelry shopping. I got a few nice things at a good price, but felt taken on a tanzanite ring I bought. I am awaiting resolution of a complaint to Diamonds International. cruise-4.jpg

That evening, we headed for Nassau, arriving early the next morning, where we disembarked to do more shopping. I got lots of colorful t-shirts for summertime and even a few summer dresses. Here is our ship docked in Nassau: cruise-5.jpg

On the other side of the port was the famous Atlantis resort. My roommate and I were going to take a cab over and check it out in the afternoon, but we were so pooped from shopping till we dropped, that we ended up taking a nap on the ship and missed the opportunity. At any rate, here is a long distance pic: cruise-6.jpg

We headed out that night, spent the next day at sea, complete with Super Bowl Party,  and made it back to Jacksonville the following morning. Trying to get home from the airport was a nightmare. I ended up spending the night at a very nice Hilton at the airport in Washington, DC, but only was there for 4.5 hours, most of it trying to sleep. I made it home about 3:00 p.m. on Tuesday. Now, if someone could get the ground to quit moving, I’d say it was a wonderful trip!

11 thoughts on “I’m home – finally

  1. So nice of you to post pics. I stayed at the resort across from the shopping, Our Lucaya. We just loved it! I want to go back. You look wonderful & so happy!

  2. Linda, you are really looking great! It looks like you had a wonderful time. Thanks for giving me a tour on this cold snowy Wisconsin day.

  3. You look fantastic, great photo’s, I am so glad you had a wonderful time, you deserve it.. Snuggle those kitty’s of yours and enjoy your weekend. Hugs

  4. So glad you had such a good time on your cruise! You look fabulous! Keep after Diamonds International. My sister and her fiance’ got ripped off, and it took them about 2 months of fighting to finally get the issue resolved. Stick to your guns!

  5. So glad you enjoyed yourself, Linda! My sister just got back from a month there. I’ve been to Lucaya, but not the other places. Anyhow, you so deserved the break and fun!

Leave a Reply

