I must be getting better

Today I ventured out for a little shopping.  Very little.  I went to the grocery store — picked up the items to make rum balls — then to the liquor store (needed rum) — and then to Costco and home.  I got the new Harry Potter movie, so I could entertain myself, but I haven’t watched it yet.  Instead, I came home, took a short snooze on the couch, and then got up and started doing a few things.  Yes, I’m being very careful.  I finally put the ornaments on the Christmas tree.  It’s been up since the weekend after Thanksgiving with just the lights (it’s a pre-lit tree), but now it has some ornaments on it.  Even the angel at the top.  Then I wrapped all the presents.  Turns out, I need to get something for my niece to open.  Luckily, the Holiday Market (winter version of the Saturday Market) is at the fairgrounds, which is just 5 blocks from my house, so I can go and get something for her there tomorrow.  The rest of her present is hidden in a hollow ornament on the tree.  Then I went upstairs and ironed all my fabric for the MQX Petpourri Challenge.  I’ll have to get a few more things for that (hopefully) tomorrow.  I think, if I’m very careful, I can load my whole cloth tomorrow and start on it soon.  I didn’t get to do that before surgery, and I think if I’m careful, I can manage to do it.  It won’t involve any heavy lifting, so it should be okay.  I also need to make those darn rum balls.  Basically, I’ll be making them for my sister, as no one else can eat them.  There is nothing special about them, except that once they are all made, I put them in the freezer for about an hour, then I bring them in and dip them in Euphoria Dark Chocolate.  That is what makes them so good.  I’ll have Ginny take them home with her and she’ll probably make them last all year, having one with a cup of coffee nearly every day.  I also got her the Chocolate and Coffee Bible for Christmas.  That woman would do anything for a piece of chocolate.  I like chocolate myself, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to get it.

So, I’m finally sleepy and my ice pack has just about turned to mush, so I’m off to sleep.  Left to my own devices, I manage to become quite the night owl.  It’s just past 2 a.m. here.  I’ll have to re-adjust my clock to go back to work in the new year!

7 thoughts on “I must be getting better

  1. So wonderful to hear you sounding more like yourself and to know the surgery has helped. Enjoy your time getting better each day.

  2. Hooray… it’s so good to hear that you are up and on the mend!! Take it easy… enjoy your holidays… and here’s to the best year ever!!

  3. Linda, I join with the others who are very happy to read that you’ve felt well enough to go out and move around. I hope your recuperation continues to move along without any glitches.

    Merry Christmas to you!!!

Leave a Reply

