All is well

Surgery on Monday seems to have been successful.  I almost didn’t need any anesthesia.  I was up until 4:00 a.m. finishing my last customer quilt.  I had promised I would mail it before surgery.  I took it off the machine, gave it a quick once over, and put it in the box and took it to FedEx Kinkos.  I managed to get home by 5:00 a.m.  I was so tired, I couldn’t go to sleep.  I did a few things around the house, then went to the bank for some cash (in case I had to ask family to get me things during my recovery).  Then it was time to head to the hospital.  My surgery ended up being delayed until amost 5:00 — it was supposed to be a 2:15 — but I did manage to doze a bit while they were making the operating room available.

So far, the pain down my legs is mostly gone.  I do get some twinges when I’ve been up and about for too long.  Lying down and getting the ice pack on it helps a lot.  I have this extreme compulsion to sew.  I may have my niece set my sewing machine up on top of a rubbermaid bin on the table so I can sew while standing up.  Sitting isn’t much of an option right now.

The other thing that is complicated now is keeping my eyes open.  I’m losing my battle with my eyelids right now, so this will have to be all I write for tonight.

6 thoughts on “All is well

  1. I’m so glad that things went so well, Linda! I am too well aware of what you’ve been through! Please don’t push too hard. Let your body rest and heal, and you’ll be right as rain in no time! I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. 🙂 I am happy to see that you feel good enough to write a blog entry! You know you’ve been in my thoughts often and I’m glad you’re feeling better than you did before the surgery.

  3. Glad to hear you are doing fine! And – it sounds like the surgery will get rid of the pain and that will be glorious. Just don’t go dancing with a lawn mower again.

  4. Hallelujah! I was hoping you’d blog at us the miinute you were able. Now take it easy and get healed. Oh yeah, stay away from lawn mowers too.

Leave a Reply

