What a week

Well, last weekend we had a big storm. It wasn’t all that bad down here in Eugene. The wind caused some damage around town, but we only got about an inch of rain. My back continued to deteriorate during the week. I was desperate for someone to help me. I did manage to get hold of a surgeon and they could see my on January 18th. I had no idea how I would manage to hold on till then. On Wednesday, I went to my physical therapy appointment. My therapist took one look at me and called another surgeon in the same office as the surgeon I called, and got me an appointment for December 19th. He told me to call the following morning to see if they had any cancellations. I did call the next morning and got an appointment for Wednesday the 12th, and if I need surgery, it will be on the 17th. I’m hoping for a simple decompression — just taking out the piece of disc that is pressing on my sciatic nerve. There is some chance that so much of it has squished out that I will now need to have a fusion. The two vertebrae are down to almost bone on bone because so much disc has oozed out.

Friday was our department’s holiday party. I had arranged the whole thing, so I had a feeling it would be okay. I scurried around as best I could after work on Thursday and got the presents for our bosses — the department head and associate department head. So, Friday morning I got up early and decided to go into the office so that I could wrap the presents and get them on their desks before they knew what was happening. On the way to work, in the dark and the rain, I hit a woman on her bicycle. I had stopped at a stop sign, looked both ways, even though it was a one way street, and then stepped on the gas. There was a sickening crunch. I saw a face slide down the side of my car as I tried to stop, and I was just certain that I had run this person over. Thank God I had not. I managed to get the woman’s bike out of the street and chain it to a bus stop post and then I took her to the emergency room. I gave her my insurance information, and then I made my way to work. I called her office later in the day and they said she had taken the day off because she had a bike accident and hurt her hand. I explained who I was and asked that they let her know that I called to see how she was. She did have a light on her bike, but it was a small, dim light, and she was wearing all dark clothing. I just did not see her. I alerted my insurance company and filed an accident report with the DMV. I still feel horrible about it.

So, the added tension and hauling the bike out of the street did nothing to help my back. I could barely sit all day. I managed to last through most of the party, which was very nice, really. I’ve gotten several emails over the weekend to tell me what a good time everyone had. At least I can feel good that I did okay with that.

I’m working on the last quilt of the season. The Baltimore Bunnies. It’s a really nice quilt and I’m getting close to finishing it. Mostly background fill left to do. Hopefully, it will be done this week and then I will have the weekend to prepare for back surgery. I surely hope 2008 is a better year for me.

9 thoughts on “What a week

  1. Oh my, Linda, you did indeed have a terrible week. I sure hope things go well with your back and you have no more freaky accidents. I’m sure that was a horrible experience. I’m sending good thoughts your way.

  2. We must chant we want Normal (do you remember what it is)….. This week will be better, I just know it will, it has to.. Hang in there things will turnaround soon.. Love to you this week….

  3. Linda, I suppose the good news is . . it HAS to get better! What an awful week you did have! I can’t imagine trying to live and function with the pain and then the horror of hitting that bicycle! I’m inclined to say I hope you don’t have to have surgery but if that’s what it takes to get you back to good working order, I hope they can do it quickly! Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

