Out of gas

Sometimes I think I shouldn’t have started a quilting business before I retire. There are two reasons for this. 1) when I’m knee-deep in quilts, I have no time for the rest of my life. I come home, lie down for a few minutes, have something to eat, and head upstairs to quilt. 2) it only points out to me how much I would rather be at home quilting instead of in the office dealing with the university bureaucracy. I much prefer the company of my cats and my fabric. Oh Calgon, take me away!

At any rate, my misery is mitigated by my new love. Yes, that’s right, I’ve fallen in love again. On Sunday, I went to Coscto. Just after I got in the door, I noticed a man sitting in that fabulous massage chair they have for about $1200. I smiled and walked past him. Once I got around the corner, there it was — a heated shiatsu massage pillow for a mere $29. How could I resist? I brought it home, and we have been inseparable ever since! I have given it its own bag and carry it to the office with me so it can massage me in my chair, then I take it back home so I can have relief after I finish quilting for the night. Never has $29 been so well spent. Just think, you can go and get a lovely one-time massage for $1/minute, or buy a heated pillow that just keeps on giving! Even if it burns out after a month, it will have been well worth it. Oh, if only all relationships were like this. 😉

The wonky D-cup Dresden is off the frame and I just need to turn it and do the two remaining borders. I had intended to do this last night, but once I got it off the frame, I just didn’t have the energy to re-load it. I’ll do it tonight. I am hoping to take Friday off to sew with some friends and then quilt, quilt, quilt. So, I guess I’d best get my nose to the grindstone and plow through this pile on my desk.

3 thoughts on “Out of gas

  1. Linda, you’re so close to being able to retire. Think about that every time you start feeling like that gauge is pointing towards “empty”. Had you not bought the longarm when you did, you’d still be wondering if it was something you could do when you retire. Now you know!

    It’s hard to do anything when you’re hurting, even if it’s just a little bit of hurt so when it’s a lot of hurt, you have every right to feel drained.

    We don’t have a Costco around here but that pillow sure sounds like it would be a great Christmas gift for a couple of people on my list.

  2. Linda – I bought two of these (one for me and one for my mom) about 20 years ago. It beat us up so badly that they went into their respective closets for 10 years, then into the Goodwill bag! Sounds like they have changed over the years. So glad it is soothing to your tired muscles! And those nasty discs, too!

Leave a Reply

