I made the leap

I have been considering, for some time now, replacing my washer and dryer.  Mine are at least 17 years old and are showing signs of wear and tear.  They work, but not well, and are energy guzzlers to boot.  So, today, I finally ordered my Whirlpool Duet Sport Washer and Dryer.  Yipes!  A bit spendy, but they will save tons in water and electricity costs.  It took me a while to find a front-loading washer with a soak cycle for those whole cloth quilts I’m so fond of making, and this one looks as though it will do that well.  I’ll end up getting $120 in rebates from my utility companies (I have a gas water heater, but electric dryer), and I think this is the last year you can get a tax credit for buying energy star appliances.  I will also donate my old washer and dryer to Goodwill or St. Vincent de Paul, so I can write the donation off on the taxes.  I think I will actually come out ahead of the game in the end.

I quilted up a storm on the Dresden Plate yesterday.  I should post pictures.  I took a few of the lovely C and D cup blocks before I cut some extra 14″ circles of batting and added them in.  I think the quilt will come out great now.  I was actually liking it by the time I shut the switch off for the night.  More quilting on the agenda this evening.  After I get my allergy shot and have my teeth cleaned!  Big day for me.  😉

2 thoughts on “I made the leap

  1. What we do for cleanliness……. Glad to see you quilting and creating again, your work has been missed….. Hope you are taking good care of “You”…. How has the PT been going, I am out of touch since camp… Love to you…..

Leave a Reply

