Oy Vay! Karma comes back around

Well – they say that karma can come back around to bite you in the behind.  It has done so today quite literally.  I hurt my back badly in May when I tripped and fell backwards onto my lawn mower.  With the help of massive doses of drugs and my chiropractor, I have managed to stave off most of the pain.  I did get one of those steroid injections into my disc to help shrink it up, but the pain came back with a vengeance in mid-August.  Again, more drugs, more chiropractor visits, and I was back in business.  It has continued to bother me a bit while walking, and it’s generally my right leg that is affected — sciatica, as it were.  Well, I awoke this morning and tried to put my pants on.  I cannot lift my left leg.  I had to roll up my pants, arrange them on the floor so I could see the hole to the floor and then step into them.  Same sort of arrangement for my sock.  Then, driving into work was a real challenge, as I drive a manual transmission car.  I could barely manage the clutch.  I saw the chiropractor who says I have an extreme spasm in the middle of my back, right at L4 and L5.  I was sent home and am now lying here with an ice pack.  I feel like I’ve been given a swift kick in the a$$.  Ouchie!

I feel lots better when standing, so perhaps I can get some quilting done, but for now, I think I’ll just relax for a while.  I haven’t been in this much pain in a long, long time.  Of course, Vince, my cat, thinks this is a prime opportunity to do a bit of snuggling.  I think he may be right.

3 thoughts on “Oy Vay! Karma comes back around

  1. So sorry to read that you are having more pain and trouble with your back! I hope you hear from the doctor and are able to get an appointment soon. Take care of you (and Vince is right—you are laying there and it is a perfect opportunity for you to spend a few hours petting him. 😉 ).

  2. Oh Linda… I’m so sorry to hear that you are hurting again. Take it easy and get well!!! I think Vince may be the right therapy for today…:-)
    Kim

  3. It must be in our water…… Darn it, I have been away and am so sad to hear this, pain is a horrible thing… Take care of you, I wish you some relief soon…. Snuggle your kitty, animals are great therapy…Hugs

Leave a Reply

