The weight loss blues

I knew this was coming, so I’m cool with it, but I have to admit it is frustrating. I have weighed exactly the same for a week now. No loss. So, those of you who are on a standard diet, you must realize that even if you are starving, your body will do its best to thwart your efforts at dropping the pounds. I only eat 600-700 calories a day — that’s all that fits in a tiny 1 oz stomach — and I am still stuck in a stall. How crazy is that? Well, it’s genetics. Somewhere back in my ice-age cavewoman past, there’s an ancestor looking down at me, saying “atta girl! Winter is a mere five months off! Do you want to freeze to death?” 😛 Yes, I have the survivor gene. My bones are camera shy and must hide behind multilayers of adipose tissue. That good north-eastern European stock in my blood is ruling this week. Perhaps I should collect some roadkill and sew up a suit to keep myself warm. Then maybe my body would let go of some of this stuff. It seems to require assurance that we won’t turn into an ice cube. Of course, as I write this, I’m sitting in the sun in my living room with wool socks, jeans, a long-sleeved t-shirt, and a hooded sweatshirt on, and I must admit that I am a bit chilly. Fat is awfully good for keeping one toasty. ARRRGGGGHHH!

Ah well, I guess I’ll get out there and expend some more calories. I’m going to do a bit of weeding today. The handsome fence builders have been here this week and have the stringers and fence posts up. I imagine on Monday, the actual fence will start up. Once I have a lovely fence, I’ll have to get my flower gardens back into shape. I’m going to kill off most of the lawn and get some nice perennial beds going again.

I’m going to give a stab at a small baby-sized whole cloth, a la Renae’s Rays and Arcs today. A faculty member’s wife is having a baby next month and the shower is next Saturday. No time to piece. Of course, I knew of the shower last weekend, and did I get my rear in gear? Noooo! Ah, nothing inspires like last minute panic. The motto of my life. 😉

6 thoughts on “The weight loss blues

  1. Linda, don’t despair about not losing anything for the past week. It takes the body some time to adjust to the fast paced changes and you will probably see a stall or ‘mini-plateau’ every month or less. I keep having them during my weight loss efforts, the longest lasted 13 days. 😦 Don’t get too down about it…..the weight will keep coming off!

    It sounds like your fence is just the beginning of beautification projects around your home! I hope you’ll share some photos (privately if you aren’t comfortable sharing them here).

  2. Hang in there, you have made amazing progress so far next week it will probably fall off….. Can’t wait to see you again…..

  3. WW taught me that sometimes when you platue you will actually lose more the next week. Something to look forward to. Chin up! You’ve been doing great. Love your pretty header.

Leave a Reply

